We Are S.M.E


[SNAPS] Dr. Dre covers December/January 2011 XXL Magazine & talks Detox by wearesme
November 16, 2010, 9:06 pm
Filed under: Music, News | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dr. Dre graces the cover of the Decemer/January 2011 edition of XXL magazine, further confirming that Detox is just around the corner.

Dre touches on several hot topics including todays leak of the track with Akon and Snoop Dogg ‘Kush’;

“It got leaked, and it was a version of it that I wasn’t really happy about,” Dre explained. “But we’re gonna go ahead and push it and put it out, since everybody seems to like it. It’s about weed smoking, and I didn’t want people to think that’s what my album was about. This is actually the only type of song with that type of content on it.”

With regards to Detox, he announces that it’s only a matter of time before it’s complete (SME think we can believe him this time) and talks of the pressure behind this album;

“I see the finish line right now,” Dre added. “I’m wrapping it up. I need about two or three more songs, and hopefully I’ll start the mixing process at the end of next month. From that point I’m about 30 days out. One of the reasons it was taking so long was because I felt like I was doing it more out of obligation as opposed to actually feeling it.”

And finally, he talks about his plans to put down the mic after Detox has released, but fear not he’s not stepping away from music completely;

“I don’t ever see myself retiring totally from music, because I have a genuine love and passion for it,” he said. “But as far as me going into the mic booth, that shit is over. I’m always going to talent scout and try to find new artists to work with. But, yeah, that’s it. I don’t see myself doing it the way I’m doing it now. I’m in the studio at least five or six days a week for 16, 18 hours. I think I’m going to back off a little bit and spend some time with the family.”

SME x

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] SME RELOAD: Dr. Dre Covers XXL Mag […]

Pingback by [NEW MUSIC] Eminem & Dr. Dre – I Need A Doctor « We Are S.M.E

[…] SME RELOAD: Dr. Dre covers XXL magazine […]

Pingback by [ARTWORK] Dr. Dre feat. Snoop Dogg & Akon – Kush « We Are S.M.E




Leave a Reply

