We Are S.M.E

[NEW MUSIC] The Strokes – Machu Picchu by wearesme

This is the fourth track that our ears have been treated to from the upcoming release, following Under Cover Of Darkness, You’re So Right and Life Is Simple In The Moonlight. The oddly named Machu Picchu – the album opener – has the classic Strokes swagger slapped all over it and could well be our favourite tune yet. What do you guys think?

Anticipation is growing for the release of The Strokes new album Angles, which is out on March 22 – 10 days to go!


SME RELOAD: [VIDEO] The Strokes Perform On Saturday Night Live
SME RELOAD: [FRESH VIDEO] The Strokes – Under Cover Of Darkness
SME RELOAD: [NEW MUSIC] The Strokes – You’re So Right

[VIDEO] The Strokes Perform On Saturday Night Live by wearesme

The Strokes are well and truly back. Last night they performed on Saturday Night Live.

Being introduced by Miley Cyrus, The Strokes took to the stage to perform the amazing Under Cover Of Darkness followed by Life Is Simple In The Moonlight, another new track off of their upcoming album, Angles. You can watch both performances below

Angles is due to drop at the end of the month. SME can’t wait any longer.


[SME INTRODUCING] Run Jack Run by wearesme

Left to Right: Maz, Skip, Scout

Who? Run Jack Run is a 3 man band made up of two brothers: Skip & Scout (Singers & Professional Actors) and Maz (Producer/DJ). All music is written, produced, performed, mixed & mastered by RJR.

Yard? North London

Signed? It’s only a matter of time

Sounds Like? Grindie

Big Tune? Howl

Not only are SME proud to call these talented chaps our friends, but we also have the pleasure of hearing the amazing results of their new project Run Jack Run and bringing it to the entourage first.

We’ve been waiting patiently for some time as the boys worked hard on this project; desperate to hear the fruits of their labour. But being the perfectionists that they are, we knew it was going to be worth the wait and they certainly didn’t disappoint, going live today with their new website and material.

Below is their debut music video titled Howl, shot and directed by Rohan Blair-Mangat. Atmospheric, artistic, inspirational. And that’s just the video. The song draws on different emotions through Skip & Scout’s contrasting styles over Maz’s productions.

And as if that wasn’t enough, below are some more snippets of what’s to come from the band:

More Run Jack Run:
Official Website
Who Is Scout Blog


[SME INTRODUCING] The Heartbreaks by wearesme

Who? Matthew Whitehouse (vocals), Joseph Kondras (Drums), Ryan Wallace (Guitar) and Deaks (Bass)
Yard? Morecambe
Sounds Like? Romantic take on British pop culture
Big Tune? Liar, My Dear

Hailing from Morecambe, The Heartbreaks are still in their infancy (as a band, not literally) having formed just under two years ago in May 2009. Their inspiration comes from Motown, bittersweet romance and the English seaside.

In the short time they have been together, The Heartbreaks have been championed by the likes of NME and Clash, won the Manchester Evening News award for Best New Band and have been hailed by Carl Barat as “the greatest support band ever!” after their passionate live shows during a support slot on his UK tour last winter.

They have their first single being released in the Spring and are looking set to kick some life back into the indie scene along with The Vaccines and the release of new Arctic Monkeys and Strokes material.

2011 looks set to be bright for these guys, so keep your ears open for them.


SME RELOAD: [SME MEETS] Freddie from The Vaccines
SME RELOAD: [FREE DOWNLOAD] Strokes – Under Cover of Darkness

[News] The Strokes Announce Tracklisting Of New Album by wearesme
January 26, 2011, 10:09 am
Filed under: Music, News | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Having been given a name, Angles, and a release date, March 22nd, The Strokes’ fourth album is most definitely on its way! And now, the final piece of the puzzle – the tracklist- has been announced. It’s all too much to take in at once.This news will have Strokes fans all over the world excited (including ourselves).

The First single from the album is called Under Cover of Darkness and is due for release next month and will shape up as the second track on the album:

Angles Tracklist:
01. Machu Picchu
02. Under Cover of Darkness
03. Two Kinds of Happiness
04. You’re So Right
05. Taken For A Fool
06. Games
07. Call Me Back
08. Gratisfaction
09. Metabolism
10. Life Is Simple In The Moonlight


[New Music] Best Coast – Sunny Adventure by wearesme
January 20, 2011, 2:44 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Best Coast yesterday announced this new song Sunny Adventure through their Twitter (@bestycoasty) saying “we gonna play dis 1 on tourrr xo”.

It’s a right easy listening tune and has certainly got SME wishing the summer times to hurry on up. If you don’t yet own a copy of Best Coast’s debut album Crazy For You then we would suggest that you head on down to your local music shop and pick one up. It’s full of brilliant indie sounds and is a great easy-going album to listen to on a chilled out Thursday afternoon.


[S.M.E INTRODUCING] Chapel Club by wearesme

Lewis Bowman, Michael Hibbert, Liam Arklie, Alex Parry & Rich Mitchell

Who? Chapel Club – Lewis Bowman, Michael Hibbert, Liam Arklie, Alex Parry (guitar) & Rich Mitchell (drummer)
Yard? London, England (although individually they’re from Essex, London, Leeds and Swindon!)
Signed? Loog/Universal
Sounds Like? White Lies
Big Tune? Surfacing

Their debut album, ‘Palace’, will be released on January 31st 2011. In the meantime you can check out the brand new video for their song ‘Surfacing’ below and download their track ‘Shore’ for free by clicking HERE.

Official Website


%d bloggers like this: