We Are S.M.E

[NEW MUSIC] Swiss feat. Wretch 32, Giggs & Sway – Gossiping (Remix) by wearesme
March 4, 2011, 2:27 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“I don’t give a fuck what you and your set do / These niggas pussies in boots, like Shrek 2”

So Solid’s Swiss brings in a few big names for the remix of his track Gossping. Wretch, Giggs & Sway are all on board, bringing with them some ‘ard verses. Giggs goes in, JEEZ!


[BANGER OF THE WEEK] Wretch 32 feat. Example – Unorthodox (Bar 9 Remix) by wearesme
February 25, 2011, 6:07 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This weeks banger comes courtesy of UK dubstep producer Bar 9, who gives Wretch 32 and Examples next single ‘Unorthodox’ a grimey makeover. Skank faces at the ready.



SME RELOAD: [FRESH VIDEO] Wretch 32 – Anniversary


Aged just 21, Yasmin Shahmir posseses incredible talent and is one of Britain’s most promising female artists.

Yasmin was born in Manchester and raised in Glasgow, but it was the city of London which would prove to be the turning point in her life and provide her with the exposure she sought.

Having moved to London at the age of 19 in order to pursue her DJing career, she soon received the recognition she deserved; going on to DJ for the likes of N*E*R*D, Taio Cruz and Eve.

Off the back of her success in DJing, Yasmin decided to pursue a career in singing, and went on to sign a record deal with Levels Entertainment (part of Ministry of Sound). She has since supported Example on his UK tour, featured on the song ‘Runaway’ with East London’s finest MC; Devlin and most recently went on to release her debut single ‘On My Own’ which charted at #39; an impressive achievement for a debut record. Yasmin is also currently working on her debut album with the likes of Jamie XX, Labrinth and Shy FX.

Having seen her tear of the roof dropping endless Hip-Hop bangers during her DJ set at Rock The Belles, we were eager to talk Yasmin and find out if in fact there is anything that this girl can’t do?
Our wish was granted and here’s what we asked the beautiful singer/DJ/model/superwoman. The last one on that list isn’t entirely true; at least as far as we know!


[NEWS] MTV announce controversial list of Top 10 ‘Best Of The Best’ British MC’s of 2010 by wearesme

MTV tonight announced the Top 10 UK MC’s of 2010 and it certainly wasn’t short of controversy.

The panel, which included: Joseph ‘JP’ Patterson (MTV), Logan Sama (Kiss 100), Ras Kwame (Broadcaster), Charlie Sloth (BBC 1Xtra/Radio 1) Chantelle Fiddy (RWD & Mixmag), Hattie Collins (RWD), Elijah (Butterz), Stanza (True Tiger), Ara (The Jump Off) and Donatella (Flava) all discussed and voted for their favourites. However, news has leaked that the list was altered at the last minute owing to pressure from industry representatives for leaving out certain individuals; namely Chipmunk and Dizzee Rascal.

The altered list did not affect the number 1 spot, with Tinie Tempah rightfully reigning supreme after an incredible 2010, but the whole premise of the list appears to be unclear.

Does chart success determine the position? What is the definition of an MC? Is Dizzee still classified as one? And obviously, why was the list altered?
If chart position is the main factor that determines the list, it begs the question; why was Wretch 32 removed following the success of ‘Traktor’ in the UK chart?

The inclusions of Maxta on the original list and Lowekey on the revised, is a bizarre choice on both counts; neither have had any success in the charts and if you ask any grime fan they will no doubt bombard you with names of MC’s who are deemed better than the aforementioned.

The first of which would be JME, who unexplainably is nowhere to be seen. And this after having released what SME believe is the best grime album of 2010; BLAM! Any ideas? No neither do we.

None the less; MTV should be given credit for commissioning the show and as a result giving the UK Grime scene the exposure it deserves.
You could argue that it’s irrelevant who made the list as the show has sparked discussions around the country; especially on Twitter where opinions have been rife since the announcement. Artists on the list will be recognised for being there and those who didn’t make it will be the names on everyone’s lips for weeks to come.

Check out the lists below:

Orginal list
1. Tinie Tempah
2. Skepta
3. P Money
4. Wiley
5. D Double E
6. Devlin
7. Wretch 32
8. Professor Green
9. Giggs

Revised List
1 Tinie Tempah
2 Dizzee Rascal (added)
3 Skepta
4 Pro Green
5 Wiley
6 Giggs
7 Devlin
8 P Money
9 D Double E
10 Chipmunk and Lowkey (added)

*UPDATE* Click here for Ghetts new track & video in response to not making the list!


[NEW MUSIC & ARTWORK] Yasmin – Finish Line by wearesme
February 13, 2011, 6:07 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Yasmin has today released the artwork for her next single titled ‘Finish Line’, the follow up to her debut Top 40 single ‘On My Own’.

A preview of the single has also been released and SME we’re lucky enough to hear her perform it live at Jazz Cafe in Camden on Friday night for HMV’s Next Big Thing. You can listen to the preview and check out our footage of Yasmin performing the song live below.

Also, keep an eye out for our exclusive interview with Yasmin which will be posted early next week!


[NEW MUSIC] Wretch 32 feat. Alex Mills – Unorthodox by wearesme
February 10, 2011, 5:30 pm
Filed under: Music | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Here’s a beautiful new track from Wretch 32. Yes; we just used the words beautiful and Wretch in the same sentence. This really is a well written and produced tune, and it’s full of soul.

“Something soulful…. Grown…. Sexy…. I love music…. I love this record… hope you do to. My album’s coming soon… Wretch 32”

Wretch summed it up perfectly when announcing the release of this track via his YouTube account yesterday. We can’t wait to hear this live tomorrow at the Jazz Cafe where Wretch is performing for HMV’s Next Big Thing.



[NEW MUSIC] Mark Ronson ft. MNDR, Wretch 32, Wiley, Professor Green & Pharrell – Record Collection (Remix) by wearesme

We had previously seen photo’s of Mark Ronson in the studio with Wretch 32 (above) and thanks to Zane Lowe and Radio 1, last night we heard the fruits of their labour.

Wretch 32 joins Professor Green, MNDR & Pharrell in providing new verses for the track, which also features Wiley & Simon Le Bon from the original.



%d bloggers like this: